Federal Administration admin.ch
Common Information Platform for Natural Hazards




Common Information Platform for Natural Hazards - GIN

It's not possible to predict every detail of extreme natural hazards like storms, floods or avalanches. The federal, cantonal and municipal Security Officers haven't much time to decide about the intervention. To get an overview they need measurement data like water levels or runoff as well as predicted data like the COSMO forecasts for precipitation. Since march 2010 all this information is available on the Common Information Platform for Natural Hazards - GIN.

Content and functions
GIN contains forecasts, warnings, models, bulletins as well as current measurement data from the Federal Office for the Environment FOEN, the Federal Office of Meteorology and Climatology MeteoSwiss, the Swiss Seismological Service (SED) and the WSL Institute for Snow and Avalanche Research SLF. There are about 90 parameters from more than 900 automatic measurement stations which are updated up to every three minutes. In addition to these stations, there are also stations from cantons and private providers.
All the forecasts and measurement data are combinable with each other, which is very useful in a flood situation. In spring for example, the specialists can compare the measured runoff with snow data and the precipitation forecast on the map. This makes it easier to estimate the height, of the water levels. GIN supports the specialists and emergency forces to get the required information quickly and comprehensively, to evaluate the degree of the danger and for the intervention to protect the population.

screenshot The image shows the combined presentation of a precipitation radar image and wind data.

User interface
The information in GIN are displayed as maps, diagrams and tables, using standardised formats. The GIN user can combine data interactively in the way that best suits his or her requirements. For example, to obtain an overview of a possible flood situation in spring, it is possible to present the current runoff levels together with the volumes of snow and precipitation forecast on one clear and comprehensible map.
This form of presentation provides a rapid overview of a situation for one or more fixed points in time, while chronological developments can be examined in greater detail using diagrams and tables. Another function enables the display of precipitation radar images in loops in combination with measurement or forecast data.

Target audience
GIN is designed for natural hazards experts and is currently only available to them.

Outlook
For the next releases it's planned to revise the user interface and to integrate additional regional modules. Further new data and products from the federation, cantons and municipals will be added.

Contact
Are you interested in using GIN or do you require further information?
Please contact info@gin.admin.ch

Des autorités administratives admin.ch
Plate-forme commune d’information sur les dangers naturels




 

 

 

Plate-forme commune d’information sur les dangers naturels - GIN

Il n’est pas toujours possible de prévoir avec précision les catastrophes naturelles telles que les tempêtes, les crues ou les avalanches. Les responsables de la sécurité de la Confédération, des cantons et des communes doivent souvent décider, dans l’urgence, des mesures de protection qui s’imposent. A cet effet, ils ont besoin de nombreuses informations - mesures des débits et niveaux d’eau, prévisions météorologiques et alertes aux dangers notamment. Depuis début mars 2010, ces informations sont regroupées à l’intention des spécialistes sur la Plate-forme commune d’information sur les dangers naturels (GIN) de la Confédération.

Contenu et fonctions
La plate-forme GIN englobe non seulement les prévisions, alertes, modèles et bulletins, mais aussi les mesures et observations récentes de l’Office fédéral de l’environnement (OFEV), de l’Office fédéral de météorologie et de climatologie (MétéoSuisse), de l’Institut fédéral pour l’étude de la neige et des avalanches (SLF) du WSL et du Service sismologique suisse (SED). Environ 90 types de mesure - de la vitesse du vent à la hauteur de neige en passant par les niveaux d’eau - provenant de plus de 900 stations automatiques sont mis à jour sous forme de données isolées (plus de 8000), pour certaines toutes les trois minutes. En outre, les valeurs de divers cantons et de stations appartenant à des privés sont déjà intégrées.
Les utilisateurs peuvent combiner les informations et données des services spécialisés disponibles sur la plate-forme GIN, ce qui s’avère particulièrement utile dans les situations de crues. Au printemps, les spécialistes peuvent représenter les débits actuels, les quantités de neige et les prévisions de précipitations sur une carte, ce qui les aide, par exemple, à évaluer les niveaux d’eau à prévoir à tel endroit ou tel moment. La plate-forme GIN aide ainsi les forces d’intervention et les autorités à obtenir rapidement des informations détaillées qui leur permettent d’évaluer l’ampleur des dangers et de prendre à temps les mesures de protection de la population.

screenshot Représentation combinée: image radar des précipitations, et les mesures du vent.

Interface utilisateurs

Les informations disponibles sur la plate-forme GIN sont présentées de manière harmonisée, sous forme de cartes, de diagrammes et de tableaux. En fonction de leurs besoins, les utilisateurs peuvent combiner les données de façon interactive. Par exemple, s’ils souhaitent obtenir un aperçu d’une possible situation de crue au printemps, ils peuvent combiner les débits, les quantités de neige et les prévisions de précipitations sur une seule carte claire et compréhensible.
Cette représentation cartographique peut être utilisée pour évaluer rapidement une situation à un ou plusieurs moments donnés, alors que les diagrammes et les tableaux permettent eux d’en suivre l’évolution. Une autre fonction permet par exemple de combiner des images radar des précipitations défilant en boucle avec des données de mesures ou de prévisions.

Public cible
La plate-forme GIN a été conçue pour les spécialistes des dangers naturels, et son utilisation leur est réservée.

Perspectives
Il est prévu d’adapter l’interface utilisateur et d’intégrer de nouveaux modules régionaux lors la prochaine actualisation. En outre, de nouveaux produits et données sont intégrées de façon continue par la Confédération, les cantons et les communes.

Informations complémentaires

Contact
Si vous êtes intéressés par la plate-forme GIN ou que vous souhaitez obtenir plus d’informations, vous pouvez vous adresser à info@gin.admin.ch